Hold the Sugar, Please!

Standard

Over the past 2 weeks I have been very aware of what goes in my mouth!  I have cut back drastically on sugar and simply the amount of food that I inhale.  I have noticed a difference in my waist, but my actual weight is as stubborn as ever.  There are so many thoughts on weight loss out there, that a person can get terribly confused.  My goal was to place my focus on God and rely on Him to fulfill my needs instead of on food, however, as I read different books, I find that my attention gets drawn back once again to food!

For example, Jorge Cruise’s method teaches a person how to count sugar and carbohydrates.  A person is expected to take notes on everything that is eaten.  He also has meal plans in his book.  I noticed that the first thing I wanted to do was try out all of his recipes and eat as much as he suggested each meal including snacks.  The problem with this is that I am paying way too much attention to food, AND eating more than I actually need.  Just because he says I can have 3 meals and 2 snacks doesn’t mean that I am actually hungry!

Other methods focus on eating whole foods.  This contradicts the method above because whole foods have carbs and natural sugar that Jorge says to limit.  Confusion.  Do I eat the watermelon or not?  Well, I ate it.  And I probably ate too much of it, but it sure tasted good 🙂

I was pleased with myself yesterday.  The family went out to eat and I picked up my salad and started to choose my dessert when suddenly I went, “no, no, no!” and walked away.  I was very full after my brisket, green beans and mashed potatoes anyway.  I didn’t need the dessert.  I have also baked several batches of cookies and refrained from eating all but 2 or 3 of them (cookies, not batches).  So, that in itself is progress.  Hopefully the weight will eventually dissolve like sugar in my mouth, but until then, I am just going to keep plugging and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

