The Way Down

Standard

Once upon a time about 15 years ago, I read a book called “The Weigh Down Diet”  by Gwen Shamblin. I had just given birth to my third child and couldn’t get the weight off. For me the technique she used was transforming. The weight slid off and I felt great for about 8 years. Then came baby #4. And some depression (not due to baby!). 8 years later I am still carrying the equivalent of a full term baby around and am quite tired of it.

While I don’t prescribe to all of Gwen’s  beliefs (religious), I do agree with her philosophy on dieting.  My issue is not merely one of inactivity, but who or what do I turn to.  I find that my comfort, my solace comes from food.  My affections are seriously misplaced. When depressed, I turn to food for comfort. When happy I turn to it for rejoicing. And then there’s every other emotion in between. The truth is that I have a head hunger, a heart hunger, and not a physical need for food hunger.

The Bible teaches that we are to have one God, and our devotion is to be directed to Him and Him alone. I know this, but switching my allegiances has not been easy since food has such a strong grip. I have tried exercise videos, books, walking, and websites to lose weight. I find that I know the right answers, I just don’t have anyone to hold me accountable to doing what needs to be done.

The purpose of blogging about it is to see it in print. To have a daily log that I look at and am accountable to. And a public forum in which I can be embarrassed. By writing about my journey, I hope to turn my focus from food back to the One who created it.  To seek Him when I need comfort or rejoicing. I know that what I do with this earthly vessel is a reflection on Him, and I want to bring Him honor by how I keep myself.

today’s challenge: eat less (and my brain is already craving and plotting)

Leave a Reply

