Meatless Lasagna

Standard

photo (2)This is one of our first whole foods, plant based meals.  And I must say, it was quite good.  I loosely followed a recipe found in the E2Diet, but I didn’t have all of the ingredients, so I improvised a little.  Rip Esselstyn calls it  “Raise the Roof” sweet potato vegetarian lasagna.  Some of the ingredients I was missing were spinach, bell peppers and cashews.  Instead I used chopped almonds and zuccini.  I also added some tempeh and mushrooms simply because I like them.

photo (1)To accompany the lasagna, I made an avocado, lime and kale salad.  It was so good.  I’ve never really been a fan of avocado, but the flavor and texture were amazing.  I even enjoyed “masaging” the avocado into the kale.  It was like playing with goo!

My son tried a bite of each, but that’s as far as it went.  My daughter looked at it and said, “No way!” Maybe someday they’ll learn to like a few of my new dishes.  I know I had fun making and eating them.

Leave a Reply

