Sod Sorrows

Standard

I’m quickly realizing how far out of shape I have become over the past few months.  Since I started juicing again, I have been saving the peels and pulp to put in the garden.  So far I have managed two trips out there.  An old farmer told me once that instead of the composte pile idea, he would just take his scraps out, dig a hole at the edge of the garden, and then bury the scraps so that they would rot right in the soil.  I liked this idea because it was a lot easier than managing a composte pile.

I liked it until today!  There is a patch of bermuda grass that is growing along the edge of my garden and I tried shoveling through that today.  Talk about tough.  I think the roots were several feet deep and very dense!  I finally got past them and to the soil, but by then I was exhausted.  I reawakened every muscle in my upper body, and it wasn’t a pleasant surprise.

My daughter has been exercising every morning…I guess I’m going to have to join her!

Leave a Reply

