Step One

Standard

Well, after being sick for so long, I decided  to venture out farther than the mailbox this time and walk 3 blocks.  Yes, I said three blocks.  It doesn’t sound like much, but it was enough.  I discovered how terribly weak I am from the sickness and how terribly out of shape I am!  The good news is that after the three blocks, I wasn’t coughing a lung up.  That’s progress!  The down side was that I was trying to implement the barefoot techniques in a pair of Teva, and it was almost impossible to land on the ball of my foot.  I feel a slight strain at the back of my knees (top of calves) and am quite certain that it’s due to tension created from the shoes.  I so badly wanted to just land on my heels!  It would have been easier.  I will probably try a few blocks again today just to keep moving.

On another note, I’ve been reading blogs, websites, and books, and the thing I keep noticing is that barefoot running advice is offered primarily to those who have previous experience running.  That isn’t me!  However, the c25k sight offers some training tips for latent bloomers like myself.  The only part that I ignored was the advice on procurring running shoes.  I am still going to use the barefoot or minimalist method; I really just wanted some guidance on how to start moving.  Barefoot sights talk about muscle atrophy and making the transition from shod to barefoot, but immediately jump from stretching the feet out to running.  Too large of a jump for me.

So for now, I’ll walk my three blocks again.  Rest.  And just put one foot in front of the other, and soon I’ll be walking out the door!

Leave a Reply

